December Traditions (Tradition 1)

So it’s December. =) I LOVE Christmas season. I also love that living in east Texas means I can wear short sleeves outside durrring Christmas season! Thank you Jesus for warm weather! This is Clint and I’s second Christmas to spend as a married couple however, last year we were in the process of moving to Texas right before Christmas, so we did no decorating. Not even a tree :(.
This year we are all moved in to our new house and we will be home for at least a couple of weeks in December, so you better believe that as soon as we got home from Thanksgiving in Oklahoma, I was pulling out the Christmas stuff! =).
A Shomaker (or Cowan rather, since it was my mom’s mom who started it) tradition is that my grandma has been buying an ornament (or more) every year since the year each of us was born. I had no idea until at my wedding shower she handed me a bag full of amazing ornaments, each with my name and the year she bought them written somewhere on each ornament :). I am so so thankful, and I have LOVED going through all of those.
Our tree this year is fairly small because it’s just Clint and I, and we will probably not have any gifts under it since we spend Christmas as our parents’ houses anyway. So all the ornaments wouldn’t fit, but I did pick out quite a few to put on the tree this year!

Image  Image

Image  Image

Image

That one is my favorite =). I think that it is very me. The rest of my tree decorations came from hobby lobby on the day when all the christmas decorations were 50% off. I got the bulbs, the beads, our stockings, and the star for under $30. Horray for sales!! So the completed tree looks like this

Image

I also made some mugs. They can’t go in the dishwasher, so I decided they were just for decoration because I know I will not hand wash them ;). It was super easy to do, I bought them from the dollar tree, and wrote on them with sharpie, then I baked them at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, I learned this from this blog and viola!
Image

Last but not least I found this adorable thing on Pinterest and I decided I would try to recreate it. Now mine is not quite as fancy as the one on Pinterest, but here it is anyway. The first picture is my pinterest inspiration, found at this blog, the second picture is my rendition.

Image Image

Excuse the lighting, I am not a photographer, I just really like pictures =).

Anyway, after all the decorating I realized something very important.

Today I am overwhelmingly grateful for the life God has given me and the people He has placed in it; my friends, my family, my family-in-law, my AMAZING husband, my church family(ies), my school and the people I have met there, my husband’s job and the house that it has provided. Even my dog is a constant source of joy in my life…..

Lord, I know that these things, and these people may not be in my life forever. I know that Your word says that all who desire to live a godly life in You will be persecuted.
Lord, when that day comes, I pray that, regardless of if it means coworkers joking at my expense, or endless torture for sharing Your love where it is ‘not allowed,’ I pray that I will feel the same overwhelming gratitude for the life You have given me at that exact. moment. 

Your will, Your way, for Your glory

~Kgilliam.

Leave a Reply

