Faith and Works

We are making progress in our Fostering journey little by little. 
Who knew all the thing that would go into caring for a kid in need would take months and months? Not to mention all the paperwork and house preparations. Oh, and rules.. lots and lots and lots of rules.

For example: 
All medication must be placed in a locked box (including vitamins, tylenol etc..)
All ointments but be placed in a separate locked box.
House rules must be on display
If you have a trampoline, foster kids are not allowed to jump on it
Just to name a few…

Image

I asked Clint about a week ago if he would mind if I called our social worker and ask her to put our application on hold for a couple of months. With my mom at MD Anderson, 15 credit hours, an internship, and everything else that goes with day to day life I was feeling overwhelmed and like I needed to take some things off my plate. 

Clint didn’t really respond, which I knew meant he didn’t really want to (I’m kind of a master at reading between the lines 😉 ) I love him so much. 
One of the things that he brought up that has been a constant source of anxiety for me is childcare. If we are placed with a child in August, what are we going to do with the child during the day while I’m at school? We can’t afford daycare and student loans. It was another reason I wanted to put off the process, but do you know that God is a constant source of encouragement? 

I am reading in the book of James right now before bed, and when I wake up in the morning and this is what I have been reading (over and over lol).

“But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves… Religion that is pure and undefiled before God, the Father, is this: to visit orphans and widows in their affliction, and to keep oneself unstained from the world.” (James 1:22,27)

Confirmation. Thank You Jesus. Even more, thank You for not stopping with confirmation.

Image

“What good is it brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him?… For as the body apart from the spirit is dead, so also faith apart from works is dead.” (James 2:14,26)

Conviction. Thank You Jesus for conviction. 

Image

 

Have a wonderful day!

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

