Keeping the Faith.

We have another foster care training tomorrow night. It’s nothing huge, just first aid and CPR, but I know that before or after the meeting we are probably going to be met with a few questions we can’t answer like, “do you have a childcare plan written up?”
I know that God is going to take care of it, but waiting for his timing can be so unnerving. The truth is, I have no clue what we are going to do about childcare or where we are going to get the money to pay for it. It makes me antsy. I am just going to keep going with the process and trust that God is going to take care of it in His timing, which, I have to keep reminding myself, is better than mine =). 
In the mean time, I have started gathering things for the Gender Neutral Room (that is the foster kid’s room, since we don’t know if we will get a girl or a boy.) Want to see?!

Mainstays Twin Over Twin Wood Bunk Bed with Set of 2 Mattresses, Walnut
 
So originally I wanted a daybed with a pop up trundle so when we have visitors we have a couple more beds for people to sleep in, however; I found these at Walmart and am very excited about them. They are twin-over-twin, so essentially the unstack and make separate beds. I thought this was ideal for when parents come to town (you’re welcome mom(s) and dad(s) 😉 ). 

I have had a hard time figuring out how to decorate a room that could be for a 1 year old, or a 10 year old, and could be a girl, or a boy.. So after a little bit of research I decided green was a good color and that the one thing that people like to put in a foster kid’s room is a cork board. It’s perfect for him/her to hang whatever they want without adding holes to the walls, and they can switch it out as they want SO I found a $10 corkboard at walmart and added a little color
Image
 
I didn’t have painters tape so I used duct-tape to make straight lines… Don’t do that if you are going to paint a cork board. It was a very bad idea, which I kind of knew going into the idea, but I was being very impatient..
 
We already had this shelf in the room
Image
 
 
I bought the lamp at Target, on sale, for $3 =). I know, BARGAIN.
My favorite part so far are the books!! These are some of my favorite children’s books and I bought BOTH of them at Half-Price books a couple weeks ago when I was in Dallas for UNDER $5!! woo! Love that place, unfortunately I only get to visit like every other month. Oh the joys of life in a small town ;). 
Image
I know they are blurry, but we have already established that I am not patient, so I only took one, also, I can’t figure out how to rotate the photo on wordpress…. Surely there is a way. I’ll work on that. 
So if you have any suggestions for cheap, DIY, gender-and-age-neutral decor, please leave a comment! I’m allllll for suggestions! =)
Kels
 
Leave a Reply

