Mother’s Day

I know that this should probably be a post about my mother

Image

and how amazing she is (because really, she is) but I have found my heart heavy today for the kids in the world who do not have a mother to celebrate.

As we have been going through the foster care process I have been getting more and more anxious to have a child in our home. I believe that as a Christian I was adopted into Christ’s family, and He commands us to care for orphans and widows, and I long to fill that command with my whole heart. 

Quick story, and a little background on one of the many reasons fostering is so important to me. 
I used to know this beautiful little girl and she had a sad and long story that I will not tell on here for confidentiality reasons, but I fell head over heels in love with her the day she asked me to be her mommy. 

I cried.

I don’t cry. 

And out of a heavy heart I wrote, as I often do when my heart is heavy:

There’s a little girl holding brothers hand
She lifts a weary arm to wipe the tears away again.
She has a heavy heart and a lonely soul
And she’s only 4 but she’s lived enough to know

That she’s living in a fallen world full of broken dreams
A world so weak that it’s ripping at the seams.
She wishes things would change and that someone would see
She just wants to be loved,
She’s so tired of being lonely.

She’s been tossed from home to home
a burden to those around her
she’s dying to leave this place.
It’s a place of fear and of doubt
She’s begging for someone to figure love out.

She needs a strong hand to hold and a place to call home.

She needs to feel safe and secure and certain that there is hope

But she’s living in a fallen world full of broken dreams
A world so weak that it’s ripping at the seams
She wishes things would change and that someone would see
She just wants to be loved,
She’s so tired of being lonely.

Oh little girl of simple faith Jesus has already taken your place.
He knows your name and your beautiful face
And in his arms you are always safe

God can fix your world and he can fix your dreams
And he will always tighten every lose seam
And little girl you will never be lonely again
Because Jesus has already taken you in.

 

I was way too young to be a mommy, and she had a family, however nontraditional it may have been, and they truly did care for her. I would have taken her in a heartbeat had the opportunity presented itself, and the law not prohibited it due to my age :). I still pray for her on a regular basis, that God will intervene in her life and let her understand just how precious she is. 

She is one of the many situations I believe God placed in my life to mold my heart toward foster care.

If foster care or adoption is something you have thought about I would genuinely encourage you to pray about it long and hard. If it is not, I would still genuinely encourage you to pray about it long and hard, you never know how God will change your life from one day to the next.

 

~Kels

 

Leave a Reply

