Let’s talk about shoes

Let’s talk about shoes.

Imagine a world without constant electricity. A world where your kids may or may not be educated. A world where your daughter’s best friend has no mom or dad to take care of her. You wake up in the mornings and get your children up, it’s hot and the sweat drips down your back. Your kids have dirt stained on their faces because there is no sink in your home to wash their faces. You have dolled out chores to each child and this morning your daughter was assigned the task of walking the long dusty trail to fetch water for the family.

Now imagine her doing that without shoes.

If there is a cut, you have not peroxide, alcohol, or neosporin to clean it out. You have no bandaid to keep it clean until it heals, no gauze to stop the bleeding.

The fact of the matter is that this is the story for millions of families around the world. Today I am writing to inform you about a ministry provided by Buckner International; Shoes for Orphan Souls.

This ministry aims to provide new shoes and socks to over 100 million orphans around the world. This month is their annual Barefoot Run in Dallas, but they have added a new component this year in an attempt to provide the opportunity for more people to get involved. This year they are also doing a virtual run.

I will be participating in this year’s virtual run. Ok ok, let me be honest, I don’t run. I think it is miserable. So I will be participating in a virtual walk, but I will do it without shoes! The goal here is to raise awareness and/or funds so that more children can be provided with shoes.

To participate all you have to do is click on the banner below and register where you are. Your run *cough* or walk *cough* can take place anytime between Oct. 4-11. You choose your location, date, and time. Here is the important part! Connect with the other virtual runners via Instagram using #barefootrun

I was told there would be a contest… something about a prize for the best barefoot run photo.

If you live in my area and want to run *cough* walk *cough* with me you can register the same way just register under the group name Barefoot run/Lufkin. If you register with my group email me
kelseygilliam@me.com

I can give you more information about where/when we will be running!

barefoot-300x100

That is the banner you need to click...

I forgot to mention; when you go online and register (it’s free) you can donate. They also have an option to buy a shirt ($15), and you will receive a picture of the child that you will be running for. That’s my favorite part.

Have a fantastic Wednesday!

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

